top of page

i am presence


Copyright   The Summit Lighthouse



Your Higher Self is a term we use to describe the spiritual part of yourself that the scriptures say was made in the image and likeness of God.

It is a manifestation of light, or energy, of the highest frequency. And just as a drop of water from the ocean contains the same properties as the whole ocean, so does your Higher Self contain the same properties of God, or the One Source.  Out of God’s own self-awareness of the One, that One is reproduced an infinite number of times. 


"In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God." John 1:1

Each time God speaks, "I AM," he individualizes himself and a unique manifestation, or Presence with self-awareness, comes into being. This I AM Presence is your higher nature.  It is also referred to as your God Presence, because it is literally the presence of God within you when you are in the physical realm.

"Neither shall they say, Lo here! or, lo there! for, behold, the kingdom of God is within you." -Jesus

"The way is not in the sky. The way is in the heart.” -Gautama Buddha

“He who knoweth his own self, knoweth God.” -Mohammad


The I AM Presence--your Higher Self--is endowed with free will, and is androgynous (both masculine and feminine/positive and negative polarities). 

"So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them." Genesis 1:27 

All things that exist are composed of the two polarities of masculine and feminine, or positive and negative.  Your unique identity is composed of both the masculine and feminine polarities of God’s consciousness of Himself.  The “other half” of your being has been referred to as your twin soul or twin flame.  In the spiritual realms, these two polarities consist within the Whole. However, in the material universe, these two polarities appear separate and as opposites (male and female).


The Whole of your identity extends itself from the spiritual realm into the physical realm. The positive and negative polarities give birth to the Son, the Christ.  The positive polarity (Father) remains in the spiritual realms and the negative polarity (the Soul as the feminine aspect) extends further and descends into the material realm.  The Son (the Christ Self), which the Soul was never intended to depart from, is the mediator between the two. 


These three aspects make up the trinity of your total being:  The I AM Presence or Higher Self, the Christ Self, and the Soul, all connected by a stream of light or life force (called the silver cord in the Bible, Ecclesiastes 12:6). 


A Divine Spark of the Higher Self is anchored in the heart of the soul evolving

in matter. This spark is called the Threefold Flame of Power, Wisdom, and Love. 

It is literally the I AM Presence within the physical temple.  And when that spark

is withdrawn, the organism “dies” in the physical realm. 


Christ is the only begotten Son of God, individualized in each of his offspring. 

Jesus Christ fully manifested the Christ Self, the only begotten Son, and told

us that Christ (which is our true identity) is our salvation.

Other terms used to describe this aspect of our being are the Real Self, the

Higher Mental Body, the Christ Consciousness, or the Buddha Nature. 

No matter what name we give it, it is our true identity and our pathway back to God, I AM. 

Although there is the appearance that God and Christ are separate from the soul, it is not the case. Our true identity is composed of all three aspects.  This is why various teachers from the East teach that physical matter is illusion, because we do not readily perceive the entirety of our own identity let alone the entirety of the cosmos.

Gautama Buddha taught that spiritual enlightenment is seeing things as they really are. When his disciples asked him who he was, he answered, "I AM Awake."


As mentioned earlier, there is a continual flow of energy in a figure-eight pattern between the Higher Self and the embodied Soul in the physical realm. The Higher Mental Body, or Christ Self, is the nexus of that flow.  Moment by moment, the Soul that is also endowed with free will, chooses how he or she will use the pure light descending from the I AM Presence.  And according to the choices made, positive or negative momentums return. 


Energy used for constructive thoughts, feelings, actions, and service to life flow naturally back to the level of the I AM Presence and accrue in the Causal Body, the individual's "treasures laid up in heaven."

This pure, constructive energy rises and forms the Causal Body, spheres of light around the I AM Presence, reflecting various colors that represent different qualities: 

Blue - Right use of power; protection; Divine Will

Green - Right use of science; truth; prosperity; healing

Purple - Service and ministration to life; peace; brotherhood

Violet - Freedom; alchemy; transmutation; joy, justice and mercy

Pink - Love; charity; compassion; art; creativity; beauty

Yellow - Illumination; wisdom; understanding; judgment

White - Purity; discipline; excellence

However, when the light descending from your Higher Self is

misused with destructive thoughts, feelings, actions, and

harm to life, the light is no longer pure and does not rise to the

I AM Presence.  Rather it settles in the aura of the individual and 

must one day be freed to return to its source.

The accumulation of these misused energies (also referred to as the lower subconscious, the electronic belt, or the dweller-on-the-threshold) become records in the subconscious that color the future perceptions and experiences of the individual.  It also contributes to the unreal image that the Soul develops of itself as a result of these energies accumulating and sets in motion negative karmic patterns. 


We are composed of seven forcefields, or bodies, while functioning in the physical realm. In addition to our three spiritual bodies already described:

  • I AM Presence, made in the image and likeness of God

  • Causal Body, the aura surrounding the I AM Presence that is an accumulation of all pure energy resulting from constructive thought, word, and deed

  • Christ Self, individualization of the Universal Christ;


The Soul takes on four material bodies when entering the material world:

  • Memory (or etheric) body meant to outpicture the divine blueprint in the physical world

  • Mental body, the vehicle for the mind of God through the Christ Self to express in the physical world

  • Emotional body, the vehicle designed to express the feelings of the Higher Self

  • Physical body, the vehicle for the other six bodies to express themselves in the material world.

Heart chakra.JPG
upper figure.jpg

Copyright   The Summit Lighthouse


Copyright    The Summit Lighthouse

bottom of page